Letter to Look Magazine

Thanks to Manny Solon for the following:

Below is my typed copy of my letter that was published in the “Letters To The Editor” section of the June 6, 1961 edition of Look magazine under the heading “Atlanta’s Battle Continues”. [ It was the lead letter in the section.  Their masthead stated ” NOW MORE THAN 6,700,000 CIRCULATION’, so it was my most read publication. :-).

A cousin of mine saw it in California and I or someone in my family saved the magazine. I received four replies addressed to me at the University Religious Council of which I was then president.  Two signed letters were positive and supportive, two were “negative” and unsigned. My original was edited and I have no idea if somewhere I have the original which said more about our efforts.

The article I was commenting on was about the efforts of African American students in Atlanta to integrate various institutions including restaurants. There were eight letters published and they were on both sides.

Sorry I just can’t scan it and send it to you.

Manny

Atlanta’s Battle Continues

Look is to be congratulated on its
excellent article The Second Battle of
Atlanta [ April 25 ].  I would like to
point out that the “battle” against
segregation is also going on in Austin,
Texas.  Here an organization of stu-
dents–Students for Direct Action– in-
situted a “stand-in” in December of
1960 in an effort to desegregate local
movie theaters….
The situation here in is significantly
different from that of Atlanta, as it
has been predominantly white stu-
dents ( from the University of Texas )
who have been taking part in these
demonstrations…. In order for us
to live up to our beliefs in American
democracy and our religious teach-
ings, we who believe segregation is
wrong must do our part to end it.
May the students in Atlanta con-
tinue to be an example and inspira-
tion for others, both Negro and white,
throughout the United States.
Emanuel Solon
University Religious Council
University of Texas
Austin, Texas

P.S. While typing this I noted – I think for the first time- that the six line letter below mine (also edited) Is “signed”
Martin Luther King, Jr.
Atlanta, Ga.

One Comment to “Letter to Look Magazine”

  1. That’s interesting about the letter being pulished in the late not very lamented Look. I once wrote a very anti-USA letter to the editors of the late Newsweek, and damn me if they didn’t print it.

    Yhe 24th of this month is the 15th anniversary of the NATO bombing of Serbia.

    Love,

    Charles

    ________________________________ > Date: Mon, 10 Mar 2014 00:59:38 +0000 > To: chas@eunet.rs >

Leave a Reply

